Krys’s Top Ten of 2013
0
  • Posted:
  • January 1, 2014

Hello from 2014.

I read a bunch of books in 2013 that rocked my world. Here they are, in

all their glory. Do any of ours match up? Let me know.

champion.indd

1. Champion by Marie Lu. This book, this series… Everything about the final book made me happy. Intense, captivating and beautifully brutal, June and Day will steal  your heart with their witty, snarky dynamic. A stunning  conclusion to an epic trilogy this series is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

5th-wave7

2. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. At first it seems to be your average “girl running around with an assault rifle” novel… and then things get weird. This is one of those books that you simply have to pick up, particularly if you are a fan  of gritty post-apocalyptic science fiction.  I am stunned by how good this book is.For fans of I am Number Four and The Host (just better!).

Beginning Severed

3. The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider. I’m not generally a contemporary YA fan, so that tells you how good this book is. Originally titled Severed Heads, Broken Hearts this book details a year in the life of two very broken high school seniors who find each other. Haunting, gorgeous writing in the vein of John Green.

this side of salvation

4. This Side of Salvation by Jeri Smith-Ready. This book has some of the best written, strongest, and most satisfying character dynamics that I have read in a long time. David Cooper is in an awkward place in life. Since his older brother’s  death his family has changed in unexpected ways. Faith and values collide as everyone tries to find peace before the impending rapture… and then suddenly David’s parents disappear. Fantastic and original! Releases April 1, 2014 (no joke).

the-bone-season3

5. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon. Shannon has been compared to J.K. Rowling and this stunning debut lives up to the buzz. The world-building is nuts, the premise fresh, and the characters complex and unique. Simply put, this is the best fantasy book of the year, richly crafted and gorgeous. Just read it, you’ll thank me!

a-wounded-name3

6. A Wounded Name by Dot Hutchison.The book is a contemporary retelling of William Shakespeare’s Hamlet.The book is told in first person from Ophelia’s  point of view as she shares the events leading up to the tragic end of  the Prince of Denmark. I’m not  even going to tease on this one – I loved it… every word. I thought it  was fantastic.

The Prey the trap

7. The Prey/The Trap by Andrew Fukuda. The first book, The Hunt, was my favourite book of 2012. With the sequels Fukuda launches himself into my permanent must-read list. I think this is a perfect trilogy for horror fans and the second book, The Prey, has the scariest vampire scene I have ever read in a book. Period.

archetype

8. Archetype by M.D. Waters. A dazzling debut, a very sharp book. It has such a dignified air to it, a beautiful  poignancy in the writing. But the beauty is a skin deep mask threatening to expose itself at any moment. Beneath the surface is a haunting,  corrosive tension that eats the reader alive. It makes the reader  nauseous in the best possible way. This is one of those books that seeps  into your consciousness. It breeds discontent. It forces one to ponder  the possible “what if?”. Releases February 6, 2014. Age = 18+

entangled

9. Entangled by Amy Rose Capetta. Cade has always fought against the Noise, an invasive force that pervades her consciousness. When a hologram named Mr. Niven informs her that she was created  by Firstbloom everything that Cade knows is turned upside down,  including the Noise. There are many themes of identity, sacrifice, fate, and betrayal. Fans of Firefly will love this book.

These Broken Stars

10. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. Initially, I thought this book might be  vapid and silly. There’s a guy and a girl and they crash onto a planet  together… and she’s running around in a satin gown and high heels?  Groan. Not usually up my alley. However, I was pleasantly, unexpectedly  surprised with this book. I loved it so hard. It’s fantastic.

titus groan

– Honourable Mention – Titus Groan by Mervyn Peake, which I reread this year and it managed to maintain its position as my favourite book (ever!) after a 10+ year-long hiatus.

– BP

– Follow the Reader –

Related posts:

No comments so far!